News and Announcements

Special Event
Honorary Doctorate Degrees will be presented to distinguished Professors John F. Dewey, Dan McKenzie and Xavier Le Pichon by Istanbul Technical University senate on October, 15th, 2019. Following the ceremony, 20th Anniversary of 1999 Marmara Earthquakes, 23. ATAG Meeting will be opened by keynote lectures of A. M. Celal Şengör, John F. Dewey, Dan McKenzie and Xavier Le Pichon.

KEYNOTE LECTURES                                       15 OCTOBER 2019   TUESDAY
14:00-14:30 20 Years After: From the view point of nectectonics of the Eastern Mediterranean
A. M. Celal Şengör
14:30-15:30 Transtension in the brittle field; Implications for volcanism, hydrology, and geothermal power
John F. Dewey
15:30-15:45 Coffee Break
15:45-16:45 Continental collisions and the origin of subcrustal continental earthquakes
Dan McKenzie
16:45-17:45 The Marmara Sea and the formation of the Anatolia-Aegean northern boundary
Xavier Le Pichon